Recovery types and Phases in SQL Server

There are two types of recoveries:

1) Restart Recovery

  • Every time an instance is restarted/ started the consistency of all the databases including master, model, msdb and tempdb is checked.
  • This process is an internal operation and initiated just to keep the entire instance clean and with integrity.
  • Taking database offline/online involves restart recovery for that database.

2) Restore Recovery

  • As per backup strategy whenever a restore is started and recovery is done per backup sequence.
  • This entire process of recovery initiated manually is called as Restore recovery.

To get more information download the below link




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s