Different Types of Editions in SQL Server

Basically there are four types editions in SQL Server.

They are:

  1. Enterprise Edition
  2. Standard Edition
  3. Express Edition
  4. Developer Edition

Enterprise Edition:

      Enterprise edition provides the highest scale and performance.


    Mostly production servers uses the Enterprise Edition.It supports for storing large volumes of data size ( up to 524 PB)It is a proprietary software.

Standard Edition:

  • Rich programming capabilities.
  • security innovations.
  • fast performance for applications and data marts.
  • Easily upgrade to the Enterprise edition without having to change any code.

Express Edition:

  • It is free software.
  • Deploy small databases in production environments.
  • entry-level database that’s ideal for building small
  • The maximum up to 10 GB of disk size.

Developer Edition:

  • It is free software.
  • Build, test, and demonstrate applications in a non-production environment.
  • It mainly used used for development environment.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s